Summer Winds on Lake Victoria

One summer I was listening to the radio while reading old poems and suddenly the time when I started talking as a toddler, the beginning of langauges in human history and the poem connected in some strange way

The summer wind blows through my window

while I’m reading old notebooks.

The yellow curtains moving

creating light and shadows on the floor,

on the page with an old poem

about loosing a balloon in the wind.

Early memories;

remembering the dust in the light

from the kitchen window.

My first words were pure sounds

like dustglittersongs.

The radio is on

and a professor says that

languages started in the area

around Lake Victoria.

While I read the poem

I can see  waves on the lake.

They are disappearing

like chalk on a professor’s blackboard

when he is erasing the interpretation

of a poem of a dead poet.

5 Responses

  1. I really like, ” were pure sounds

    like dustglittersongs” and the analogy in the last section.

    I will read more

  2. Nicely done. You’ve done a good job of capturing and expanding the moment. Thanks.

  3. I really like the last few lines of this. Beautiful

  4. Some good imagery here.

  5. This really captured my imagination, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

